for the love of artists–everywhere

I just returned from the Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library. It is a hub of activity with just 2 days to go before the Meet the Artist celebration for 2010. Pat Gaines-Mills’ art work is everywhere, and her pieces are phenomenal. Phenomenal pieces.

What lured me downtown on such a cold, moonlit night was Writers’ Block. This is the writing group that I’ve been trying to connect with since last December. They are a group of urban poets and hip hop spoken word artists who seek to be better and better. Though a little spastic on the surface, this diverse group of writers are serious about the business of writing, speaking and being heard.

i’m trying to fit in.

This was my first of what i hope are many meetings. I feel charged and energized by the group with their youthful enthusiasm. I’m sure I’m the oldest thing in the room (including the furniture) and I don’t have a style or stage name; nor can I be ‘off book’. But I’m there, and if i’m heard, then it was a good day.

Leave a Reply

