…a widow’s muse

The Apostle Paul wrote letters to Timothy to teach young church leaders how to manage the people in their churches. But the book of Timothy contains a wealth of information for anyone who wishes knowledge on how to handle everything from children to elderly widows. It is the elderly-widow part that is most interesting to me.

Mom’s digital converter box reset itself for the 89th or 90th time and she could not get her television to work. This has, as I indicated,  happened repeatedly since we installed the converter box last summer. However, this time was different because the entire city is  under a winter storm warning with blizzard-like conditions, limitations apply to travel and her driveway is undoubtedly un-shoveled.

I asked my son who lives 5 blocks away to go over to her house and reset the box.  However, engagement with his “friends” prevented him although he said he would do it, he hadn’t after 2 hours. Needless to say, I went over to her house, reset the converter box and for my trouble, got stuck in snow and ice in her unshoveled driveway.

All of these events have led me to the conclusion that when I am at a point when I need my son’s help, my son’s engagement with “friends” takes presidence over helping me. I don’t want that to happen but limited are my options. Even as I applied kitty litter to the back wheels of my 2 ton Trailblazer and prayed that this would do the trick, I could hear mom over my shoulder asking rhetorically who could we call–presumably not to chat but to come and help me get unstuck.

I wanted to tell her soooooooooo badly that there’s never been anyone who i could call on except Jesus. And he never disappointed. And because I am sitting here now writing about my experience, I can attest that he never will disappoint.  But that’s another blog for another day. Jesus is my help but how does that play out on a practical stage? Does he send men to help me? Do angels appear climbing up and down Jacob’s ladder with supplies and provisions for me? Of does he give me the strength and wisdom to solve my own problems? Or perhaps family who are otherwise engaged with “friends” and find it inconvenient to interrupt their playtime? The incident raises a host of life issues that I have grappled with my entire life as I am not a widow, just a woman who has never been married.

One Response to “…a widow’s muse”

  1. Amy MacLeod Says:

    I certainly walk that path with you! Most of my adult life has been as a single person. When I am chopping, stacking and carrying wood to top up my winter’s supply, working full time looking after seniors and a retired minister helps himself to my supply – no note or anything! – I was completely flummoxed. When he confessed 5 months later, I asked him if he had considered asking first. Then I suggested he could have gone to any of the male inhabited households in the neighbourhood – one just feet away that has a father and a 20+ son! I was incensed and was told later that I was likely the only person who has challenged him. Abusing a position of trust feels like abuse whether it’s sexual or stealing wood. I felt very alone, very vulnerable and very angry. The male dominating attitudes of some male Christians is not acceptable. Thank God I know that forgiveness does not mean having to condone the behaviour.
    – Amy http://souldipper.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

