life lessons

Every day of life offers lessons–we can choose to learn them or ignore them. Today I chose to pay closer attention and see what the lesson, i.e., the story of life, was today. Things for me come into greater focus when I am quiet. Listening is key and sometimes all I have to listen to is silence.

I find that at this hour, I am very tired. Subject to revealing far more than intended. But, I have made a commitment to write a poem a day, so here goes:

When It Rains, It Pours

when it rains, it pours
that’s what grandma said
when–as a little girl
with time on my hands and few
cares in the world
 I sat on her lap
sucked on a peppermint
or lemon drop
and watched the world unfold around
her wisdom and her insight
grandma knew that there would
be days when only her kisses could
soothe my aching emptiness
ground me until I could return to earth
blow away clouds and confusion
paint a portrait of Truth in black and white
when it rains, it pours
she said

If you’re reading this blog, you’ve joined me in the NPM challenge. Peace and blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

