let the church say

okay, okay. this is the last observation i will make about jessica care moore…at least for the next 24 hour period. no apologies as i read her book  because i’m so inspired by it.

she has let me know that now is the time to get back on track in my pursuit of fearlessness. this is, i know, something that comes from God only but i can put in my request and watch for the angels along the way.

lest i forget about LaMont ; the chocolate brown brother at church who shoved two $5 bills in my hand the day i said my call is to write and i am to write my single/celibate story. every time i see this brother, i get a surge of courage.

or Jessie Fitzgerald, the little angel i met in Panera’s Bread restaurant on one of my writing days. i was working on a piece called “It’s Not Okay” venting on how casually some people take the issue of domestic violence against women. (everytime i think about this piece, i wish i had said something at that moment. one of my greatest regrets will be not speaking up, especially if it could have saved a woman’s life. i will answer for this at judgment day)

Jessie spent two hours schooling me about websites, blogging, creating and maintaining a business plan, setting specific goals as an artist and breaking into the freelance writing business as a way to make extra money. i’ve never seen her again, her website is down and her e-mail bounces back. typical stuff for modern-day angels. Thanks Jess!

so Jessica takes her place as another angel sent by God to inspire and encourage me. meeting Jessica definietly helped dislodge something that was figuratively stuck in my poetic throat, literally choking the life out of me.

i have spent a few minutes organizing the new poems i have written. I really like “Chocolate Light”, my April 17th entry.

now for my April 18th entry in celebration of NPM.

the preacher spoke in
metaphors
connected the dots in his message
about how haters work
people who wage war against other people
their missiles and landmines are words
their words are
weapons of mass destruction

i really want to write a piece about how i sometimes feel i have to keep my passion a secret because of the haters in my life. people who’s job is to discourage me and keep me from reaching my goals. dominating my time and using manipulative tactics to keep me from reaching my goals. in a word–enemies.  the working title is Identity Crisis.

I hope all my writing friends are writing up a storm.  I am on an 8-day fast from complaining and fretting about not having enough money or going through my weekly habitual whine-and-cry because a bill doesn’t get paid or I don’t have any cash in my pocket and stop letting the enemy tell me that tithing doesn’t work and that I should try something else. This morning, the devil whispered in my ear these words:

“YOU KNOW THAT IF YOU CONTINUE TO DO THE SAME THING, YOU WILL GET THE SAME RESULTS. IT’S INSANE TO THINK OTHERWISE. IF YOU KEEP TITHING AND NOTHING HAPPENS, WHAT MAKES YOU THINK ANYTHING EVER WILL.”

and the devil is a lie. I stand on the promise that i am the righteousness of God, that he loved me so much that he gave his only son to die at Calvary for me, and that the thoughts he has for me are to prosper and have hope.

So, one 8-day complaint/worry-free period will rest against another 8-day period, and so on and so on until i am complaint/worry-free.

Count your blessings…right now!!!

Leave a Reply

