a journey begins

IMG00498-20100918-1609

Image by blondie4 via Flickr

Chinese philosopher, Lao-tzu said “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”  Lao-tzu, The Way of Lao-tzu, (604 BC – 531 BC) . 604 BC was a long time ago, but wisdom knows no clock. it is with this infamous quote i begin my most personal “journey”;  instituting exciting, dramatic lifestyle changes in order to get healthy and lose the weight i have been carrying around most of my adult life.i have grown sick of myself and the weight and the unhealthy lifestyle i lead. i have begun to feel that in order for me to soar like my Heavenly Father wants me to soar, i have to drop the weight so the wind can lift me heavenward. No I’m not telegraphing metaphorically that I’m dying. In fact, quite the opposite: I WANT TO LIVE

So I’m going to use the remainder of September to research mean plans, low-calorie diets, exercise plans, etc. and give this thing what may be the last try. Already making changes in my food habits has paid off with lower blood pressure, which is unbelievably encouraging for me. And I’m optimistic that in the next year, a lot of change will happen.

I’ve been out of this limb before, but this time I think it will hold.

2 Responses to “a journey begins”

  1. Love your blog. Very spiritual and uplifting. Congratulations! Suggestion. Take 15 minutes every day to read a bit of God’s Word. Every day. You will be amazed how much wiser, calmer and more discerning you may become. Just a tidbit from experience. Peace and love to you and yours.

    • Greetings, Wes. Thank you so much for your commentary on my recent blog entry. I appreciate you as a reader and I hope not to disappoint. Also, I appreciate your advice regarding my spirituallity. Keep reading…I promise, it gets better :-o)

Leave a Reply

