breathe-write-breathe-write

Today was a good day. Today I went on the Fall Creek Parkway walking trail. It was serene and quiet at 9:30 in the morning. It was the opportunity I had been looking for to clear my head: think, pray, cry out to God…whatever I needed. It’s been almost 4 days now since i left The Writer’s Well and I still feel the calm peacefulness of the place.

At the same time, I feel the hounds of hell barking at my back door:  more bills than money, mother needing her pain medicine, pressures of keeping up with work–especially after being gone from it for a week. 

Just when I was about to take a deep breath and relax, two Jehovah’s witnesses come to my door (the vocal one actually asked me if I believed that God hears my prayers. I looked her in the eye and said “yes–of course”. This was obviously not the response she expected because all she had to fall back on was Phil 4:6-7 which talks about praying about everything and being thankful for everything. Duh!

Without being rude, the Jehovah’s Witnesses cheat the kingdom by pushing Jehovah God and trying to ignore Jesus Christ. But the word of God is so abundantly clear: Jesus said He is the way, the truth and the life. No man cometh to the father except by him. There’s no other way to God except through Jesus and the J.W.’s constantly try to end-run around Christ to get to Great Jehovah. Please.)

Anyway, back to the serenity of my walk. While on the trail, i began to reflect back on my time at the Writer’s Well. There was a chapter in the Natalie Goldberg book about writers taking the time to observe and write about ordinary things. And i began to catalogue some of the ordinary things that I saw while I walked.

I offer this short poem to you about this:

Ordinary Things

the world is full of ordinary things
magical things
a
robin, a sparrow and a
whip-poor-will scout the underbrush
for a morsel or two
a squirrel harvests what she needs
for the winter to come
a crane touches down for a
perfect landing on the once still pond
a thousand leaves fall at my feet
at the command of an early morning breeze
a cobweb dangles from the soffit above my head
a caterpillar hangs upside down while munching on a leaf
this world is full of magical ordinary things 

 

Existentialism aside, I must continue to breathe-write-breathe-write-breathe-write. That’s all I can do. Remember that abundance is coming my way, impatience impedes my freedom, and that I’m being prepped for great things.

Namaste.

 

One Response to “breathe-write-breathe-write”

  1. I love the sense of stillness your poem evokes. My favourite line is
    a thousand leaves fall at my feet
    Thank you for reminding me of the magic of ordinary things.

Leave a Reply

