If I Could Go Back in Time

If I Could Turn Back The Hands Of Time…

piano keys

If given the opportunity to go back in time, I would take piano lessons more seriously. When i was about 12 or 13 years old, I quit playing the piano and have regretted it ever since.

If I had stuck with it, who knows, I might have been a contender. i was actually very good, had received training in classical piano. I was well acquainted with Bach, Beethoven, DeBussy, Hayden…all the rock stars of the classical piano world.

Having the ability to read music has proven advantageous over the years, too. I've sung in several choirs in my lifetime, and invariably someone needs someone else to read music. "Does anyone read?" is the question that comes from somewhere on the other side of the room. A sheepish hand raises and the rest…as they say…is history.

Mom invested a ton of money in my career as Alicia Keyes and I'm sure if she were here, she would express a disappointment in me that is limitless. Sorry mom, I just didn't understand why I couldn't play with my friends but rather had to practice fingering or chords.

But hindsight is truly 20/20 and if I could change something in my life, I would be on tour right now.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

