Peace On Earth–Goodwill to Men

sunset, the goodwill bridge, facing towards so...

Image via Wikipedia

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about my enemies; my personal bullies. The folks that plain don’t cotton to me and they are mean and full of hate. It’s by God’s grace that I still have fingers after counting them, but they exist and they mean me ill-will.

This got me thinking about the difference between good will and ill-will. Having just come through the Christmas season, the concept of goodwill remains with me. It is the premise upon which one believes that man is basically good and thus believes in the best in a person. It means walking a mile in another man’s moccasins in order to  understand better where he is coming from. It means discovering what causes one person to be kind and another one mean.

For example, the societal phenenon of road rage is rampant in our community. There are thousands of stories of lethal encounters with people who react in a violent manner if confronted while operating their vehicles.  Let’s face it: everybody seems to be in a hurry to get someplace.

The man of goodwill does not react to being cut off in traffic. The man of goodwill does not seek revenge or try to get even by cutting them off in traffic. The man of goodwill lets the harried driver go ahead and take the lane or whatever advantage there is in traffic.

Why? Because the man of goodwill determines that the harried driver is in a hurry with many, many things on their mind and didn’t mean to do it in the first place. It was an accident, pure and simple, and if given an opportunity to repeat the offence they would not.

Goodwill means I ask myself every day this question: How can I demonstrate goodwill to another person who may not deserve it?

Proverbs 14:9 says “Fools mock at making amends for sin, but goodwill is found in the upright.” This means that a fool would chase after the driver who cut him off and demand an apology. We know from news broadcasts that antagonizing an angry person in traffic is stupid and dangerous.

So, what does all this have to do with my enemies? I am wise to not engage them in confrontation because the communication could be lethal. Perhaps not to the point of bodily injury (although I have learned the hard way that your enemies will stop at nothing when driven by their hatred of you), but perhaps I am speaking more about emotional murder. They attempt to murder my spirit and leave me lying flat on the side of the road. 

But this year, I intend to beat them to the “punch”! Level those folks who would just as soon see you fail and disappear from the face of the earth as spit in the wind by delivering the one-two punch of goodwill and kindness. They’ll never see it coming.

Then, most importantly, be ready to run!!!

Leave a Reply

