Commitment to The Journey

Lately, I have been tossing and turning over what to post in the blog. Somehow, sometime recently it became a chore and a task to post to my blog. Today it hit me: this is my blog and I have the absolute right to post or not to post. I can ignore the blog or write on it every day. My choice. I can break every rule. I don’t have to capitalize my “i’s” or cross my “t’s”. I can start a sentence with “And” and “But” and the grammar police will not arrest me and take me away.

And i don’t have to write about anything in particular.I don’t have to be polite, savvy, socially acceptable, or politically correct.  The point of the blog is not so much to display my literary genius. It is that I keep a journal for the journey.

So here and now, I recommit to the journey; the path along which I travel toward my destination. The road determined for me to travel. Paved with set backs and disappointments, cobbled with joy and moments of absolute clarity. Asphalt that heats, cools and reheats until it expands, sometimes cracking and needing repair—like today. It is, after all is said and done, the journey. And the journey in and of itself is worth the write.

So i will continue to write in small chunks. Maybe a paragraph or two about my day. Maybe a poem, or part of a poem. Maybe here I will share what I hear in the wind. Perhaps I will quote the poet John Murillo when Poets & Writers magazine asked him for his advice to wanna be writers/poets like me.

Murillo says “…know that what’s meant for you will find you; what isn’t, won’t. It’s a waste of both time and energy worrying about where this person publishes or what that person wins. So-and-so’s success or lack thereof has nothing to do with the poems you need to write. Don’t hate, hustle.” Poets & Writers (Jan/Feb 2011; The Beauty We Are Made Of, by Kevin Larimer, p67)

Thanks John. You just confirmed for me what I learned back at The Writer’s Well in Sharpsville and what keeps me going when I think I have completely lost my mind and lost my way along the path: Just keep on writing and eventually what’s yours will find you.

One Response to “Commitment to The Journey”

  1. Rosie Bishop Says:

    Ah! Like a breath of fresh air, the permission to ease up on one’s own demands or the expectations of others. All this bears repeating and feels like compassion: “Today it hit me: this is my blog and I have the absolute right to post or not to post. I can ignore the blog or write on it every day. My choice. I can break every rule. I don’t have to capitalize my “i’s” or cross my “t’s”. I can start a sentence with “And” and “But” and the grammar police will not arrest me and take me away.”

    One’s own self-critical vulture on the shoulder can be the most destructive. Being our own cheerleader gives us practice to cheer for others. (No offense to vultures who have an important place and good work in the community of all beings.)

Leave a Reply

