I’ve Been Away Too Long (but i’m coming back) Again

William Faulkner's Underwood Universal Portabl...

Image via Wikipedia

Dear readers, please forgive me. I owe any/everyone who followed my blog an apology. I owe a great big thank you to Brenda, too.

I’ve been absent from the art of writing but today, in the most unusual place, under the most unusual circumstances, I am re-acquainted myself with the art and craft and why I wanted to write poetry in the first place.

While waiting in the lobby of the local Chevrolet dealership, I met a fellow writer and we had time to chat about our passion while waiting for our vehicles to be serviced. She is on a path toward a screenplay; I shared that I’m observing the world around me and trying to put it on paper. This opened a door of all kinds of curiosities. After our chat, while I continued to wait, I decided to make good use of the time and read a little more.

I found a couple of articles published on the Writer’s Digest website. One article in particular is “16 Ways to Not Win A Poetry Contest” a blog entry written by guest blogger Miriam Sagan <http://www.writersdigest.com/writing-articles/by-writing-genre/poetry/16-ways-to-not-win-a-poetry-contest-guest-post-by-miriam-sagan>

And thus, along with some useful advice from Brian A. Klems entitled 1o Ways Writers Lose Blog Traffic and Alienate Readers http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/10-ways-writers-lose-blog-traffic-and-alienate-readers>, I have decided to reinvent myself, and so, my writing life as an 18-month veteran of blogging.

Brian’s article challenges me to make the thing interesting–to somebody other than myself. Tough assignment, Brian, but I hear you loud and clear. I’ve been consistently inconsistent with my blog and I repent of that. I stepped away from all of it when mother took her tumble. But now that she has passed I have time to write.

Leave a Reply

