Child-like faith

English: An African Lion (Panthera leo) at the...

Image via Wikipedia

Today I watched with the rest of the world the video of 3-year-old Sofia Walker staring down an 8-year-old male African lion named Malik. No, it wasn’t the trailer of another TV reality show, rather it was un-reality at its best. I’m referring to the 3-year-old girl in New Zealand who innocently faced an 8-year-old lion living at the local zoo.

Of course, the ferocious beast was behind protective glass to shield his giant frame from harming the little girl. Adults who witnessed this huge king of the jungle, including a nervous mother nearby–bravely holding the camera as steady as she could, cried out in amazement and terror that something would go wrong—but not the 3-year-old. The reporter for the Dominion Post revealed that in the end, the little one asked if she could return to the zoo to celebrate her 4th birthday next month.

Seeing this reminded me of today’s morning meditation. The Spirit led me to Psalm 8:3 for entirely different reasons. I had marveled that the full moon that began in the eastern sky had made the rounds to the western sky and was fading from view, but not before I looked at its amazing beauty and heard “When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him. . .?”

But then I choose to read the verses that surrounded the text because I was so awe-struck by the beauty of God’s word this morning. And that’s when I stumbled upon verse 2: “from the lips of children and infants you have ordained praise,” and the scripture’s insightful commentary. It suggests that as children, we are able to trust without doubts or reservations but as we get older, many of us find this increasingly difficult to do.

It was the little girl from New Zealand who taught me a lesson today and gave me cause to pause. Could I have child like faith like that in the face of danger, or distress, or attack? Will I ever be able each day to simply ordain, decree, establish and enact praise to God and trust Him in every moment? To stare down my lions?

I’m grateful to Sofia for this invaluable, visible demonstration of how this trust-thing works. She never questioned if the glass would hold, or if the lion would attack, tearing her little body to shreds. She simple trusted. Lord, help me daily to stare down my lions.

FMI: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/01/10/sofia-walker-new-zealand-zoo_n_1196784.html

 

Leave a Reply

