Consider The Lillies

Greylag Geese (Anser anser) in flight Français...

Greylag Geese (Anser anser) in flight Français : Oies cendrées (Anser anser) en vol. Svenska: Flygande grågäss (Anser anser). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Are other species ambitious, or are humans the only ones who strive for more than who they were created?

Perhaps my greatest failure is not in academics or fashion, parenting or social skills. Perhaps my greatest failure is resisting the nothingness—the mundate trivialness of mere existence.

Although I find myself continually, perpetually drawn to write, which I know I will continue, it is the recognition I crave that I must relinquish. Writing in obscurity is better than not writing at all. Right?

Watching two geese near the gazebo in the Fort Harrison Lawton Loop Post, one sits unflinching in the grass while the partner forages for bugs and whatever is hidden in the grass.  Neither of them have even wanted nor will ever want for money, prestige, success, notoriety, better living conditions, or a college education. Never ever—not once. 

Likewise they do not melt down when these events don’t occur, nor would they celebrate if they did.

I am again reminded that the lilies of the field are beautiful because that’s how God made them, not because they work at being beautiful (Matthew 6:28).

Now as one of the geese has begun to make its way to the water, after a moment or so, the other goose is walking rather quickly toward the water as well; near where the first goose stands. Once they reach the pond bank, they take turns taking drinks. While one drinks, the other is a pseudo look-out.

Now they are afloat, moving with the current of the water—still together.  Occasionally, one of the geese will dip beneath the water’s surface for one of the moist, tasty bites just below the water’s surface. Gracefully, silently they swim, paddling their webbed feet and flapping their wings when necessary.

They bathe where they pee, they pee where they eat, they eat where they play and life is really simple, by design, for both of them. They happily spend their entire lives this way every day; only then, after their play is over, did they leave me to ponder and reflect on their truth, when it was time for them to fly away.

These creatures teach me that I have been writing my story in black ink, instead of pencil or colored chalk or crayons. Where is the beautiful, playful, carefree child? Has she been silenced by the responsible, resourceful adult?

2 Responses to “Consider The Lillies”

  1. Rosie Bishop Says:

    Diane! I am so excited. My most recent writing project–the writing I have done most in my life–is curriculum. I went to bed an hour ago and had a brain shower of ideas for what I am writing around SEEDS OF PEACE and a camp-like program of serious learning. CONSIDER THE LILIES (2 L’s I think) is perfect to include–and unleashes a flood of related ideas I have used in other settings. So THANKS, before I read it. Saving it for tomorrow–the Geese and the Lilies! Gnight. Happy renewal, happy resurrection of all that is good and true in YOU! Hugs, Rosie

  2. Rosie Bishop Says:

    Oooh, the punch line. The geese and all of Nature, singing, do have a lot to teach us. Silence. Grace. Acceptance. Keep writing, reflecting and learning from all of Nature’s kin. Thy KINdom come.
    PS Why does it say above, “No Responses to ‘Consider the Lilies?”

Leave a Reply

